Skip To Main Content

Annual Gerstacker Awards

Each year since 1956, teacher proficiency awards have been given to recognize contributions by exemplary teachers beyond the ordinary level of professional performance.

These teacher proficiency awards are made possible through the generous support of the Carl and Esther Gerstacker Donor-Advised Fund at the Midland Area Community Foundation.

Four awards are given to Midland Public Schools teachers every year for “Excellence in Teaching.” Two of the awards are made to elementary teachers (K-5), and two awards are given to secondary teachers (6-12). Recipients receive a cash award to be used for travel, continuing education, research in education or other appropriate purposes, together with an engraved permanent testimonial to their exceptional professional merit.

Any person who has served continuously for a period of three or more years in a position requiring a Michigan certificate for teaching, is not retiring in 2024 and has not received a Gerstacker Award previously is eligible to be nominated for this award.


The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 17, 2024.

Nominations can be made by filling out the online nomination form or by sending a personal letter to the Superintendent's Office, Midland Public Schools, 600 E. Carpenter Street, Midland, MI 48640.

Nominations filed each year expire with the announcement of the honorees for that year. Anyone who submitted a nomination in the past is encouraged to re-submit the nomination this year.

2024 Proficiency Awards Committee

The Awards Committee consists of a member of the Board of Education, the president of the Midland City Education Association (MCEA), the chairperson of the MCEA Professional Standards Committee, an MPS Administrator and a Gerstacker recipient from the previous year.

These resources include information about the 2024 Gerstacker Awards & nomination process:
Online Nomination Form

Have a question or comment?

Please contact our Superintendent’s office for more information about the Gerstacker Awards.
Sarah Duley
Manager of Communications
(989) 923-5026