• Alert:

    During the Stay Safe, Stay Home mandatory closure announced by Gov. Whitmer, all MPS offices are currently closed. Food service pick-up and drop-off points will continue Monday, Wednesday and Friday during the closure. My office will continue to communicate with stakeholders via our Communiques. Please use Email or MPSConnect if you have questions or need assistance. 

    Stay safe, Michael E. Sharrow, Superintendent, Midland Public Schools

Close alert

65th Annual Gerstacker Awards

Each year since 1956, teacher proficiency awards have been given to recognize contributions by exemplary teachers beyond the ordinary level of professional performance.

These teacher proficiency awards are made possible through the generous support of the Carl and Esther Gerstacker Donor-Advised Fund at the Midland Area Community Foundation.

Four awards are given to Midland Public Schools teachers every spring for “Excellence in Teaching.” Two of the awards are made to elementary teachers (K-5), and two awards are given to secondary teachers (6-12). Recipients receive a cash award to be used for travel, continuing education, research in education or other appropriate purposes, together with an engraved permanent testimonial to their exceptional professional merit.

Any person who has served continuously for a period of three or more years in a position requiring a Michigan certificate for teaching is eligible for the award.


The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 20, 2020.

Nominations can be made by filling out the online nomination form or by sending a personal letter to the Superintendent's Office, Midland Public Schools, 600 E. Carpenter Street, Midland, MI 48640.

Nominations filed each year expire with the announcement of the honorees for that year. Anyone who submitted a nomination in the past is encouraged to re-submit the nomination this year.

Awards Ceremony

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday, April 30, 2020 at 4:15 p.m. at the Midland Public Schools’ Central Auditorium (305 E. Reardon).

2020 Proficiency Awards Committee

The Awards Committee consists of a member of the Board of Education, the president of the Midland City Education Association (MCEA), the chairperson of the MCEA Professional Standards Committee, an MPS Administrator and a Gerstacker recipient from the previous year.

Information Form
Online Nomination Form
Past Gerstacker Proficiency Award Recipients

Have a question or comment?

Please contact our Superintendent’s office for more information about the Gerstacker Awards.
Cindy Young
Administrative Assistant
(989) 923-5026